Reopening Guides:


Search Knowledge Base by Keyword

[Updated Oct. 14] Governor extends no mask, no service statewide, rolls back Phase 3 bar seating and hits pause on phase advancement.

< All Topics

UPDATE: As of October 14, Phase 1 counties have now been advanced to Phase 2. This includes Chelan, Yakima, Douglas, Frederick and Benton counties.

Special note: On July 23, 2020, Gov. Jay Inslee announced new restrictions for Phase 3. Phase 3 restaurants can operate at 50 percent capacity with five people to a table. The information below is for archive purposes.

As the number of cases of coronavirus rises across the state and the nation, Governor Jay Inslee has announced several temporary revisions to the state’s Safe Start plan to curb the spread of the disease while keeping businesses open. While the new restrictions carry temporary limits and modifications, they allow bars and restaurants in Washington to remain open. Other states, such as California, have closed bars and restaurants in counties, due to the spike.

The Governor issued a revised proclamation Tuesday and updates to the state’s Safe Start plan. You can read the full text by clicking here.

Among the temporary changes announced:

No Mask, No Service The Governor’s proclamation requires all businesses statewide to refuse service to customers refusing to wear a cloth face mask. Exceptions to this order are:

  • Children under the age of five
  • Adults with medical or mental health conditions, or a disability that prevents wearing a face mask. This includes but is not limited to persons for whom wearing a face covering could obstruct breathing, or who are unconscious, incapacitated, or otherwise unable to remove a face covering without assistance.

This order will take effect Tuesday, July 7th.

Phase 3 Bar Seating Rolled-Back. Phase 3 bar seating in restaurants and taverns will be temporarily eliminated. While no bar seating will be allowed for counties in Phase 3, dine-in requirements at 75% capacity and party sizes of ten people or less remain in place.

Pause on Phase Advancement. The proclamation has temporarily ‘paused’ counties moving into less restrictive phases for the next two weeks. This impacts:

  • Counties moving to Phase 2 and beyond (Clark, Cowlitz, Jefferson, Kitsap, Klickitat, San Juan and Walla Walla). To see a list of counties and their phase status, click here.
  • Before this pause takes effect, Benton, Franklin and Yakima counties will move into a modified Phase 1.5, allowing for 50% outdoor dining capacity. As of October 14, Phase 1 counties have now been advanced to Phase 2. This includes Chelan, Yakima, Douglas, Frederick and Benton counties.

The Governor has issued a revised proclamation extending the state’s Safe Start plan to July 9th , when the Governor may announce further modifications based on data.

Reusable menus are now permitted for dining, provided they are sanitized between each use.

No mingling rule: All patrons must be seated at the specific seating capacities specified for each phase. Standing is prohibited in any area of establishment, except for the lobby/waiting area and then must be done while maintaining 6 feet of distance between patrons.

A reminder: Customers must wear a cloth face covering anytime they are not seated (while being seated or leaving, or while going to the restroom) and while they are talking at tables and not eating. If you are seated at a table and not eating or drinking, please keep your mask up!