Search Knowledge Base by Keyword

[Phase 2 reopening] 10 more counties eligible for moving forward in Safe Start Plan

< All Topics

Gov. Jay Inslee announced on May 19 that 10 more counties are eligible to apply for a variance that would allow them to move into Phase 2 of the governor’s Safe Start Plan.


  • Spokane
  • Adams
  • Mason
  • Thurston
  • Lewis
  • Clark
  • Clallam
  • Kitsap
  • Island
  • San Juan

He said these counties are eligible because they each have fewer than 10 new cases of coronavirus per 100,000 residents in the past 14 days. This reopening criteria is similar to what is recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Inslee added.

Each county will need to secure several approval measures from county health and elected officials, and applications will need to be approved by the Washington State Department of Health.

While being eligible for reopening for Phase 2 does not yet mean restaurants can today begin Phase 2 operations, you can prepare! Check out our relaunch guide and get started today.

Click here to learn more about the variance application process and see what’s open in your county.