Reopening Guides:


Search Knowledge Base by Keyword

What do I do if my employee has coronavirus?

< All Topics

The Washington State Department of Health (DOH) has guidance available for employees who have or think they may have the virus:

What to do if you have confirmed or suspected coronavirus disease
What to do if you were potentially exposed to someone with confirmed coronavirus disease

If a staff member, or administrative personnel has symptoms of coronavirus, it is important to place them in a private room away from others and ask them to wear a face mask, according to the department. Immediately notify your local health department. They will provide you with guidance.

If an employee has tested positive for the virus, they should remain under home isolation precautions for seven days OR until 72 hours after fever is gone and symptoms get better, whichever is longer.  To help you and your employees identify the signs and symptoms and know what to do and when, read this decision tree developed by DOH

If an employee has had a fever with cough or shortness of breath but have not been exposed to someone with the virus and have not tested positive for it, they should stay home away from others until 72 hours after the fever is gone and symptoms get better, according to the Washington State Department of Health.  And to help you and your employee navigate the inevitable questions around eligibility and benefits, use this flowchart

After following guidance from the health department, it would be wise to communicate facts of confirmed coronavirus with anyone who may have been exposed (guests, staff and contractors) – you must be diligent to protect the identity of the employee.

And make sure you get your business spic and span, using EPA-registered cleaners to knock out any bugs.

Restaurant Law Center’s Workplace Infection Control Practices Guidance

The Association has also hosted a webinar “Top 10 Return to Work Q&As for restaurants” – Watch the Reply Here